Dau Jwng Ondla

IMG_8814.JPG

Ondla  Jwng Dau is one of the most authentic, famous and unique Bodo dishes. This is the most favorite among the indigenous people. It is mainly prepared with chicken/pork/prawns, rice flour(mostly grounded) and khaar (homemade Alkali). Khaar is one of the special ingredients of Assam and used in most of the Assamese and Bodo dishes.IMG_8750

Last weekend, I prepared Dau Jwng Ondla at home, predominantly guided by mom over the phone. I always lean on my mom whenever I prepare something authentic,  of course, she’s my guide, my philosopher, my teacher and my idol who keeps inspiring me.

Many times I prepared this dish but never came out so well. For the first time, it has come out perfect and everybody was appreciating my cooking skill. Proud Mommy and a wife!

Later I thanked my mom for her amazing recipe and the great success. She told me adding the right amount of spices is the key to making any dish delicious.

Following is the recipe for authentic Dau Jwng Ondla curry.

Recipe:

  • First, wash and soak 1 cup of rice (I used Joha rice) for about 3-4 hrs. Grind it into a smooth paste with little water.Keep the rice paste aside.
  • Take a pan. Heat 1 tbsp of mustard oil. Add 1/2 cup of sliced onions and 2 slit green chilies. Now add the chicken pieces (1/2 kg). Add 2 tsp ginger garlic paste, 1tsp crushed pepper, 1 tsp turmeric powder, salt to taste, 1tsp cumin powder, 1 tsp coriander powder. Mix it well and cook it for 10mins stirring at regular intervals. Add some water and let it cook till chicken pieces are tender.
  • Again, add water according to your requirement. I have added 2 cups of water. Once it starts to boil, take 1 cup of gravy and add 2 tbsp of grounded rice, mix it well and pour in the curry. Add 1 tbsp of khaar (homemade alkaline). Let it simmer for some time.
  • Stir it continuously so that lumps should not be formed. Finally, add chopped coriander leaves.
    Enjoy your delicious hot Ondla Jwng Dau curry with plain white rice.
Leave a Reply

