My First Arabic Dish, Kunafa!

We are truly amazed by the beauty and the lifestyle of this city, Dubai. We love this city for many reasons, not to mention the bad ones. I am a great foodie, and Dubai is a heaven for foodies like me.In Dubai, over 80 percent of its residents are expatriates from other countries so you can enjoy the food from all around the world, including Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Indian, Pakistani, Lebanese, Turkish, European and much more. One day my husband asked me to cook something Arabic. A few days ago we had dined to an Arabic restaurant and ordered a dessert, named, Kunafa. The dessert tastes so sweet, creamy, crunchy, and utterly delicious. Eventually, I have decided to try my hands on my first Arabic Dessert, Kunafa.

One day my husband asked me to cook something Arabic. A few days back, we had dined at an Arabic restaurant and ordered a dessert, named, Kunafa and it tastes amazingly sweet, creamy, crunchy, and utterly delicious. Eventually, I have decided to try my hands on my first Arabic Dessert, Kunafa. I won’t say that was my perfect shot but delightful and everyone was admiring my cooking skill.

IMG_8953IMG_8952

Cream Kunafa Recipe:

Ingredients

1. Kunafa Pastry 500 gm (1Pckt)
2. 250 gm Melted butter
3. 3 cup milk
4. 3 tablespoon Corn starch
5. 3 tablespoon Sugar
7. 1 cup Rosewater
8. 1 and a half cup sugar syrup

Method
Step 1:
Cream Filling:

In a medium saucepan over high heat, add milk and sugar. Mix well.
Whisk a half cup of water to cornstarch and pour it into the milk gently. When the mixture thickens, add 1/2 cup of rose water.
Pour the cream mixture into a bowl & keep aside.

Step2:
Kunafa Mix:

In a large bowl, take kunafa pastry breaking all strings apart with hands. Add melted butter over the pastry. Some sugar and remaining rose water. Mix it well with hands.

Step 3:

In a pie pan, add half of Kunafa mix and press down evenly. Then add some Cream filling over it evenly. Add the remaining Kunafa pastry and press down gently.

Step 4:

Bake in a preheated 400F for 30 minutes. Turn it over the plate to serve.
Pour sugar syrup over Kunafa.

Enjoy your super delicious dessert.

Leave a Reply

